The sale and use of hard drugs are prohibited in many countries, but tobacco and alcohol are sold and consumed Governments should apply laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

These days, it is a controversial topic that although cocaine, amphetamine, and heroin are banned from sale and use in various nations, why detrimental cigarettes and alcoholic drinks widely sold and commonly used by people? While many people reckon that the authorities should impose the regulation to restrict the sale and use of all types of disastrous narcotics, even these two things, I think that they should categorise them into soft and hard narcotics, and should apply different laws. In this essay, the reason to support my disagreement with this view will be elaborated. The first reason that the government should impose different regulations to prohibit hard and soft drugs is the level of damage to societies and individuals. Soft narcotics such as cannabis, tobacco, and whisky are able to be legally sold and used by adults who are mature enough to know the consequences when they take these things for recreation purposes. However, the government should implement strict legislation and punishments to control children aged under 18 years old because they are not mature and do not have responsibility enough to use them. Furthermore, they should be educated on the pros and cons of drugs to decide later when they are over 18 years old. Secondly, the alcohol and tobacco industries play a crucial role in driving the economy of the nation as the authority receives a huge amount of money by collecting taxes from these industries, which are considered the main financial resource of the nation. For example, according to the report from Bangkokpost, in 2021, the income from taxes on beer, whisky, and a cigarette accounted for 30 per cent of the total income of Thailand. Moreover, cannabis legalization could promote tourism sectors resulting in generating enormous finance for Thailand in 2022. In conclusion, this essay discussed why the authorities should not prohibit soft narcotic because it has the potential to relax people from stress, and can generate a tremendous budget for the countries. In my opinion, they should apply different laws and regulations to control these medicine.