To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that finding a true masterpiece of craft has become quite rare, while some less worthy ones are recognized as of great value. I belong to a similar school of thought, therefore, I second this opinion and completely agree with the unfair situation. To begin with, as the world is advancing, modes of creating artistry is also progressing with it. In this era, paintings, 3D sculpture making and other forms of designing can be done with the help of technology and gadgets. Therefore, the value of true artists who are God-gifted and create things naturally with their own hands is declining. To illustrate, if someone is designing a building, nobody prefers the architect who still designs manually but everyone will rush toward the one using the computer. No doubt, the usage of the modern invention makes a task precise and consumes less time but still, someone doing work manually must be appreciated. Furthermore, in the field of art also, ulterior methods like using influence or bribing authorities for the sake of fame and money have become quite common. For instance, folk who know nothing about craft or its forms are developing paintings in the name of abstract artwork, which actually has no meaning behind them. Such people are topping the charts using their influence and other methods just to gain fame and have nothing to do with handcraft and they are unfortunately successful in doing so. These sorts of acts are sure to be condemned to let the talented communities come forward and develop themselves in this field. On the other hand, people who were appreciative of artwork and had a passion for it are also becoming rare, which has discouraged the artists to adopt such jobs and consequently, less production of quality products.As to exemplify, nobody likes to go to formal exhibitions or functions where art is being displayed nowadays due to lack of time and busy schedule. Hence, the organizers of such activities are discouraged. In conclusion,I agree that although true artistic productions still exist and they need attention and help to let them flourish and come forward whilst, there must be criteria for an art piece to be named as a masterpiece and not some non-alleged methods.