It is important for people to take risks, both in the professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risk outweigh the disadvantages?

Some argue that making some risky moves, both in terms of one’s private life and working career, are all opportune. As great, otherwise unforeseen opportunities often stem from risk-taking and opportunity-seeking moves, I think the benefits are far more than the turmoil that might be created. In terms of career progress, the main benefit of throwing caution into the wind can be that it is more likely one expedites his career goals. In other words, those who attempt various business enterprises and transitions can actualize their potential and realize their ambitions in the long run. A prime example of this is Steve Jobs who took many risks to create the legacy he has now. He, innovatively, came up with the idea of the iPhone which was totally revolutionary at the time even though the idea would have led him to some short-term setbacks and made him plagued with tons of obstacles and disturbances. But he, intrepidly, pursued his goal and eventually made brilliant changes and progress in his career and company. In terms of personal growth, an individual who takes risks is more willing to develop more mature relationships in his life. In some developing countries, for example, there are some restrictions regarding having relationships with the opposite sex. The result of this is that they are not aware of how to cultivate mature and trusting love which is considered the hallmark of a lasting relationship. In contrast, provided that a person has this opportunity to embrace some risks in meeting different people, he will probably become a better judge of character. Their allegedly risky behaviours, in fact, can serve as the foundation for their logical, unselfish and passionate relationships. In conclusion, I am a staunch believer that taking risks and seizing opportunities can be catalysts for not only personal growth but career progress. The unfortunate consequences of some risks, though, can be mitigated by being trained to take the right risks and not being totally reckless.