In developed countries, many people are living alone or as a small family unit. Why do you think this is happening? How does it affect society?

There has been a tendency for single adult life and smaller family size in developed nations. I will give my reasons for this phenomenon and explain its effects on society. To begin with, there are several reasons why individuals prefer to live alone and independently or only have a small family in developed countries. One of these is that adults, especially the young ones, chase after the wealthy and social standing achievement, which are defined as aspects of a successful life in this era for instance. As a result, they intensively focus on their career path and so have less time for building romantic relationships or raising children. Additionally, the quality of adult relationships worsens because of the ubiquity of online connection, which is lower quality than face-to-face. Hence, it is harder to find a partner that is compatible with marriage. That said, I deem that this notion brings detrimental impacts on the living societies of wealthy nations. In terms of a single lifestyle, could lead to many potential mental illnesses. For example, It is evident that the proportion of young adults suffering from depression, anxiety, and loneliness is continually increasing due to insufficient deep and meaningful talks with trusted partners. Regarding small family units, many parents with a single child may put too much pressure on their success from a very young age making the kid feel stressed and unhappy and cannot enjoy their wonderful childhood. A final drawback is an imbalance in population structure in developed countries, and so results in a lack of talented teenagers to inherit the responsibilities from this generation. In conclusion, many adults in prosperous countries choose a single life or a small family because of pursuing other life achievements or low-quality romantic relationships. On top of that, I believe this notion will negatively impact society.