In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do the advantages of home education outweigh disadvantages?

Homeschooling is eminent among folks these days. Self-education provided by parents cause them to not sending their offspring to school and this issue has been trending in certain countries. This essay will highlight why homeschooling has more drawbacks for children rather than the benefits. To commence with, self-education will promote a sedentary lifestyle to children. As a consequence, it will be hard to absorb all the inputs during the learning process, for example, only 15% of the information is completely received by the brain if a person just self-study at home according to some research in Indonesia. Children today seem to have an intuitive understanding by just hands-on practicals which is not available in the homeschooling method. Thus, parents cannot turn a blind eye to this matter as it is not crucial at all. On the other hand, this kind of education style will create in-person social disconnects. In other words, children will endure fewer interactions with others, and as a result, it can lead them to become antisocial types of people. Recent research by "The Times", approximately 25% of school-aged children experience difficulty making a friend at school due to a lack of communication skills. However, home education will able the parents to supervise and restrict their children activities from time to time. Despite this, it just poses a minor threat to the advantages. In conclusion, although homeschooling allows parents to supervise their children regularly, it will create a social barrier, as well as promote an inactive lifestyle in children. Hence, I reckon that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.