Some people believe that university should offer places for people with high marks, Others says that universities accept all age of people even if they do not well at schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There has been a controversy about whether universities should be lenient with applicants and accept people even if they can't meet the requirement. I think universities are designed for capable people, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, your grades can reflect your ability to a large extent. It's expected that the purpose of setting up universities is to cultivate human resources for the country's needs. Therefore, there must be a strict standard to select qualified students who can make contributions to the country's improvement. At this point, if the requirement is low and lenient, it can end up that students are unable to take responsibility for developing the country and waste all the resources. Hence, in order to fulfil this arduous challenge, universities should choose students who have at least enough marks. Second, to balance out the job market's needs. It's commonplace that everyone wants to work in the office comfortably and let others do the dirty work. However, if all people want to be office workers, then there will be worker shortages in other industries. Take China as an example. The number of university students outweighs the needs of the job market in China now; such a situation results in an unsatisfied salary and a worsened unemployment rate. In this case, students with lower points can go some places, such as technical schools, to learn some professional skills and engage in those occupations in the future. On the other hand, universities can give those students a chance as well. For instance, there are students who are good at math, but bad at language subjects. In this case, their total marks might be low on account of their special talents. Therefore, if universities can give these students an opportunity, they might make some outstanding achievements. In conclusion, I believe it's necessary for universities to have a rigorous standard in selecting students.