Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Although in recent days there is cutting edge technology in medical fields, some people prefer alternative treatments rather than go to the traditional doctor without thinking of the consequence of treatments for cancer, pandemics or health system overburdened. In my opinion, this will be negative for society. The ease with which people have access to alternative medicine is dangerous as there are no studies to give a clear result of the effectiveness of these, so that, when the population choose this type of treatment there is not necessary an improvement in an illness. Furthermore, it can be said a balance between technology and normal doctor have improved life expectancy, on the contrary, the successful rate of either acupuncture or homoeopathy where is no proof of the real result. For instance, there are studies to show that alternative medicine appeal more to the placebo effect if people try to use more this medicine, the world will have a more sick population. The main consequence of this is in the success rate of treatments will increase and in illnesses like cancer is necessary to use traditional medicine with a mixture of technology as the science tests the products before to use in the population showing objective results. In addition, although alternative treatments usually do not use pharmaceutical chemicals, this is necessary to control pandemics and does not overburden like recently show coronavirus times. For example, Chile most of the people that died were who do not got the vaccination and people who survived were vaccinated. In conclusion, for people is indispensable to go to the traditional doctor as is more reliable than alternative medicine so that medicine and technology could show real figures of success.