An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online .

Significant number of people and firms with the advent of technology are presently purchasing what they desire through the internet. This essay will first suggest that, saving of time is the primary benefit for both individuals and organizations while loss of money is the main drawback. A meaningful conclusion shall be made afterwards. Firstly, saving of time is one of the enormous reasons individuals and firms purchase online. This is because, with this mode of buying, people do not have to go in search of the item physically, moving from one shop to the other but with just a click of a button, items are displaced and the individual request for what they want, pay and sit comfortably for it to be delivered making it very convenient for them since that time could be used for other things. Furthermore, it reduces the cost as companies and individuals save money because the goods are delivered to their doorstep unlike where they go to buy and has to transport themselves. For example, in a recent survey conducted by the ministry of trade and industry, it was revealed that those who engage in internet buying save nearly half of their money due to free transportation. Thus, purchasing online will go a long way to save time and cost for all who venture into it. Despite the convenience and reduction in cost, procuring online can not go without a challenge and one of them is loss of money. A key factor to this is that there are a lot of fraudsters who will just showcase something online and after people place order and make payment, they close their site causing them to loss their monies. More so, there can be a change of items where what exactly was requested for will not be delivered and the person or organization have to take it as it is. For instance, the managing director of GHACEM in an interview revealed that the company has lost 1 billion dollars to fraudsters when they wanted to buy a new cement making machine. Thus, huge sums of monies can go waste in this kind of business. In conclusion, individuals can save time and not incur so much when they buy online but they should have it in mind that they can loose their monies and get their items changed upon delivery.