Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Making decisions is an important feature of human behaviour. Some individuals think that if children decide about their routine tasks by themselves, they probably become like people who are just concerned about their own needs. However, others think that children should make decisions about matters. In my opinion, making decisions by children makes them independent individuals in society, but families have an essential role in developing the power of choice of their children by teaching them to make decisions in other types of matters in addition to daily routines. On the one hand, children always have a high level of talent and the power of learning. Indeed, doing repetitive activities is registered in their long-term memories and could become a part of their behaviours. Making choices is a sample of behaviours that children learn in their repetitive daily activities. Now, if making choices are related to their inner needs, such as food, clothes, and entertainment, they learn to pay attention more to everyday matters. In other words, by allowing children to make decisions about routine tasks, the importance of their own wishes is bolded for them, and it makes them self-centred individuals who just think about their own needs. For instance, children who just decide about their food or entertainment cannot easily realize others’ needs and just focus on their own wishes. On the other hand, allowing children to make choices, even about their own needs, promote their power of decision making. In other words, children who have experience in deciding about their daily matters have better power of decision making in comparison with those who choose their routine tasks from their own parents. Indeed, those who have a chance to make decisions can be more independent people in society about their choice on different types of topics. For example, children who choose the colour of their clothes by themselves can easily decide about the colour of their cars or colours for the redecoration of their home in the future. In conclusion, however, giving chance to children to make a decision about their daily programs teach individuals who are self-willed and jus have concerned about their own needs, children learn to be independent about their choice in society. Of course, families should teach their children how to tackle every type of matter and don’t limit their children to decide only about daily matters.