Competitiveness is considered a good quality in most societies nowadays. How Does it affect individuals? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is often believed that some form of competition helps in boosting individual morale. A common opinion today is that assertiveness brings excellent quality to individuals. In this essay, I will discuss rivalry's good and bad effects. To begin with, comparing oneself with the success of others can contribute to building an inner drive towards achievement, which starts with improving one’s flaws to achieve better results. For example, in sports activities, this quality helps to grow the need for each athlete to develop teamwork and perseverance to reach their highest potential. They are not always bound to receive the results they want, but failure makes them strive to perform better, and the spirit of competition brings about this attitude. Similarly, the same concept is essential in a business model to achieve exponential profit. Thus, it helps in moulding positive growth and determination in individuals. In contrast, competitiveness may also be counterproductive if it is mainly focused on comparing material things such as cars, mansions or wealth. It can make people feel unappreciative of themselves, leading to feeling overwhelmed. While competing helps to drive passion, if overdone may cause negative repercussions like greed, jealousy, or conspiracy towards one another. For instance, on social media platforms like Instagram or Facebook, lavish lifestyles are exhibited to sell products or recruit people for businesses. Still, it is relatively short-lived because it sparks the need for instant gratification rather than character building. In conclusion, being competitive can have multiple effects on an individual. I believe it is suitable for everyone if it is not purely based on superficial materials. After all, humans need some comparisons to expand their motivation to succeed.