We are surrounded by all kinds of advertising, which significantly influence our lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

Nowadays, we are living in the world prevalent with various advertisements, which significantly influence our lives. People of all ages are affected by advertising. However, I think that the negative effects of advertising outweigh its positive effects. To begin with, with television or online advertising, people can get easy access to multiple goods. For example, people can find about the most updated computer through advertising. They can then compare between the advertisements and choose the most suitable computer. The advertising makes shopping more conveniently and efficiently, as people can gain enough information on products without going to different stores. Granted that advertising allows people get more information about the latest products, people still lose money and time making insensible purchases. For example, some TV advertising on make-ups or perfumes targets female customers, and people will be informed that these products will make them more glorious or attractive. People will have impusivle shopping and thus waste a large amount of money. In addition, the elderly is also the target for commercial advertising on health food. The company may exaggerate the effect of these products on promoting health. Lured by the advertising, old people will spend thousands buying so-called health supplements. These products might cause adverse effect on the old people, when they choose not to seek medical care and rely only on the health food. Children are also easily influenced by the advertising. The advertisements of computer games are extremely attractive. School children will beg their parents to purchase the computer games, and some children will become addicted to the games and will get poor marks in school work. Some parents insist not to buy games for their children, who will become very unhappy especially when most of their peers are discussing about the games in the school. Children will have intense relationship with their parents. In addition, some advertising might advocate and promote dangerous behavior including reckless driving and alcohol to attract more potential customers. Adolenscents might be lured to the pub and even try drugs. Young teenagers might become drug addicts and break the laws to satisfy their needs. These advertisements might affect the young people both physically and psychologically. In conclusion, although advertising can provide more information on the products for people, the negative effects outweigh the positive effects in the case of costing people money to make impulsive purchases and lure children to drugs or alcohol.