These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

The recent quarantine has moved many parts of our lives into the internet space, with no exception in education. It is argued by some that online learning lets students learn more flexibly and saves time. Nevertheless, others think that a shortage of socialization and the possibility of distractions are harmful. In my opinion, while online classes are great from a short- time perspective, conventional learning is essential for students. To begin with, the main argument in favour of online learning is flexibility. Seeing lectures at home lets students study at their own pace, for example, to fully write notes or rewatch the difficult explanation. Therefore, after some time an improvement in results might be visible. Furthermore, no need for commuting or socializing means more free time to learn or relax. On the other hand, the home environment gives many possible distractions, starting from food and ending with a new TV series. The conventional classroom is in its essence designed for learning, whereas the home is usually the place to sleep and spend spare time. Thus, in an environment in which it is easier and more comfortable to be distracted, students might find themselves not studying and subsequently have bad results. Moreover, socialization is crucial for young students and their mental health. In my opinion, both of these ways of learning have their pros and cons. Online learning is very beneficial from a short- time perspective, whereas the conventional method is advantageous from a long- time perspective. Hence, balancing these ways of learning would be the best choice. In conclusion, learning at home is more comfortable for having an ability to study at one's own pace and having more time to spare. Notwithstanding, it results in more distractions and in less socialization, which subsequently means mental health deterioration. Therefore, I stand for using both of these methods in a balanced way.