Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In many cultures globally, spanking children as a form of disciplinary action is considered appropriate. This is based on the idea that smacking youngsters is the most optimal corrective measure. This essay will argue that slapping as a form of discipline is absolutely ineffective. Parents have often resorted to striking their offspring while correcting them. A justifiable reason would be that this is most likely the way they themselves were raised and therefore have been preinformed to teach using physical force. Indeed,youngsters respond to this form of correction as the fear of being hit by their guardians deters them from delinquency, for instance,a child who throws a tantrum in public and is stroked afterwards will endeavour to be in his/her best character while outside. The effect is achieved furthermore with some biblical backings that state that"spare the rod and spoil the child " encourage people to utilize corporal punishment on minors. However, popular this practice and belief is, it is highly counterproductive and detrimental to the development of minors.Controlling offsprings misbehaviours by hitting them only instills fear in them not necessarily good conduct. In 2004, studies conducted in Nigeria on children aged (7-15years) show that those who were paddled by their guardians for lying repeatedly told more lies due to fear of being punished.Children are humans capable of reasoning. If adults when they commit offences are not beaten physically why should the reverse be the case for juveniles? This form of preventing one's ward from misconduct has psychological effects such as; Timidity and supports physical violence and abuse.Most abusers have a history of abusive parents therefore ways such as constructive criticism are advised. In conclusion, This essay argued that physical force as a mode of discipline is extensively damaging and inefficient.