Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Many individuals decide to run their businesses instead of being employees for a company or organization. This essay will explain the reason and the drawbacks of this issue. The major reason people nowadays would like to be self-employed, rather than working for a particular company is liberty. When people work in an organization, they have to obey the rules of that organization and do what their bosses say. Moreover, some staff does not have enough salary and they have to work overload, over time. Therefore, when they become self-employed, they can be more creative and follow their dreams freely without any stress. On the other hand, a company will not have enough human resources to work although that company has a financial background and talented leaders to train to work efficiently. As a result, there are not enough products to supply people and the economy will slow down. However, being self-employed has certain drawbacks. Firstly, it is so risky because they cannot expect their salary to get every month and they have to pay taxes. Secondly, being a freelancer may fail because people have to do everything on their own. When there is a problem, they have to solve it without any help while working in a company, many people work together to solve a difficult issue. Thirdly, independent workers cannot receive employee benefits like insurance, sick pay, or holiday pay. Moreover, self-employed will not have the opportunity to upgrade their skills for free. In conclusion, although being self-employed is a reasonable way of life, there are some drawbacks that people would encounter.