Consumers are faced with increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisement ? what measure can be taken to protect them.

These days, the cutthroat competition among companies tends to lead them to use advertisements in order to boost their sales. Therefore, their audience has to face a number of advertisements regularly. In my opinion, these advertisements have a great impact on people's behavior, and in this essay, I will suggest possible ways to mitigate their negative effects. To begin with, big Brands adopt persuasive techniques to Allure people to buy Goods, including emotional Appeals, celebrity endorsements and repetitive messaging, these techniques have a significant impact on customers' purchasing decisions, leading them to buy unnecessary things. Apart from this, broadcasting has the great ability to manipulate consumer desire, to an advertisement they can control human behaviour. Some advertisements demonstrate duplicate high-quality products and provide false information to attract customers. Which leads to issues like unrealistic thinking and manipulation. For example, in 2018, the sale of a tobacco product in India rose 75% after the appearance of famous cricketer Varinder Sehwag in the advertisement. However, later due to this act he had to face criticism by the public and media. There are numerous approaches to prevent people from advertising. Firstly, government standards and strict advertisement laws need to be implemented for misleading information and ensuring transparency. This could help people to buy the actual product without false claims. Secondly, subjects related to media literacy should be taught in schools, therefore, children can have the sense to differentiate their needs and desires. For illustration, recently, New Zealand imposed a complete ban on advertising of smoking products on television after considering its detrimental effects on school children. In conclusion, although, an advertisement is an essential tool in business, its negative impacts cannot be ignored. However, it is the right of business, so I believe people should adopt preventive measures and do some research before buying products.