Government should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since human beings have merely one, and the only one, earth, it is without a doubt that everyone should be responsible for taking care of the environment. However, I partially disagree that the government gives over full power to the locals for controlling their own habitat. Even though it is the locals who are living in their neighbourhood, without the rules and enforcements created by the government, some areas might sacrifice their environments for other benefits such as economic growth. Therefore, it is very likely for them to end up harming their environment, which will not only influence the local area but the country, and even the whole world may be impacted. Individuals or organizations that are eager to protect the environment awfully could do nothing but watch others damaging their beloved earth if not getting supported by powerful authorities. Besides simply passively enacting laws that prevent citizens from harming the environment, the authority should consider educating local residents about the importance of taking care of their own environment. For example, more courses and seminars related to sustainability should be implemented in schools as well as in society, making both students and adult groups aware of the necessity of living an eco-friendly lifestyle. In conclusion, I believe everyone, including the government, should play a role to protect the place we are living in. As far as I am concerned, instead of giving the locals full responsibility to take over their own environment, the government should be actively involved, step in and assist the residents if necessary.