It is often said, “when in Rome, do as the Roman do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

Cultures, especially cultural assimilation, have long been an area of focus that frequently draw public attention and provoke debates. Even though cultural differences are always appreciated in modern times, immersion is deemed crucial. In the following essay, this matter will be further analysed and my personal opinion about it put forward. Firstly, embracing local cultures and adapting to them is considered essential due to its merits. By being willing to accept an unfamiliar tradition and custom, one can easily be accepted in societies where the vast majority of the populace belong to and practice it, resulting in proper communication and the avoidance of misunderstandings, which facilitates an individual’s life to ensure his survival in an exotic setting. Hence, there is no point in denying the significance of cultural absorption, especially in relation to one’s survival in a strange environment. To illustrate, researchers who study far-flung communities and tribes have to be absorbed into the peculiar traditions so that they can conduct research among that communities without facing hostility from the tribal members. Another point that should also be taken into account is that verbal communication, one of the intrinsic features of any culture, plays a pivotal role in the successful absorption of an individual into a community. As mentioned earlier, appropriate communication is imperative for those who desire to be welcomed in a community and language is obviously the most prominent factor as well as the only recourse to it. An instance of this justification is that students who plan on studying overseas must sit the test concerning the language of the country for which they want to depart as part of the procedure to ensure that they can study effectively as well as cope with different social contexts in that country. Therefore, it is not an exaggeration to assert that language is indispensable when it comes to cultural learning. In conclusion, cultural immersion in general and lingual research in particular are eminently important for those who want to be accepted in an alien setting for the reasons mentioned above.