In some countries, young people are ecouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

These days, some countries encourage young people to take a gap year to work or travel before university. This has been widely followed by numerous young adults. This trend has both benefits and drawbacks for those who decide to follow it. The youth believe that a gap year would have beneficial effects on their future. First of all, they could learn several essential skills that were not taught at school. For instance, they could improve communication skills by meeting new people while travelling or they could learn how to manage time and finance in the working environment. As a result, these skills and experiences could support their education or job. Another positive aspect of a gap year is that they would have the right direction for their lives. To illustrate this, they have a long period of time to review themselves and plan for their future. Moreover, they could try doing new things, which they did not have enough time to do when they were studying at school. These ways might guide them to the answer to what they want to do for their lives and the community. However, there are some negative aspects to giving up a year. The most serious disadvantage of this trend is time -wasting. If young people decide to take a gap year without any clear plan, they will end up wasting a lot of valuable time by spending all day watching TV or playing video games instead of working or travelling. Consequently, they would be unemployed. An additional drawback of this is the loss of motivation in studies after coming back to university. In particular, they are likely to be away from academic programs for so long that they might forget a few lessons that are important and find it difficult to catch up with university courses. For this reason, they are no longer interested in studying. In conclusion, a gap year is both beneficial and harmful for young people. It helps them learn more necessary skills and have the right direction for the future but it also wastes time and causes them to lose motivation to study. In my view, a gap year is a good choice if the young think clearly and plan carefully before deciding to do this.