In some cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Heavy traffic is one of the most serious issues in busy cities such as New York, London and Tokyo. People often waste their time and gasoline just to escape from a traffic jam on holidays. What is worse, the traffic problem prevents an efficient transport of support to the damaged areas after disasters such as an earthquake. In my opinion, this can be attributed to several causes and there are several possible measures to implement. First of all, our unconscious behaviours often bring about a traffic jam. People tend to drive at a peak time without consideration, which ends up creating long queues for a similar destination. To solve this, the only logical action is to slightly change the time schedule and avoid rush hours. There is no benefit to being in a long tailback. (gridlock/ bottleneck./a town-centre bottleneck/ tailback/ snarl-up) on the way and with a small shift in plans they can. spend less time in traffic and more precious time where they want to be. In fact, some thoughtful people leave their homes in the early hours and spend about half a day at Tokyo Disney Land. Furthermore, the delay in road maintenance also creates congestion in countries with various natural disasters such as Japan, or China. Frequent earthquakes make cracks on the road surfaces and require repairs for a while, from which. traffic jams inevitably arise To overcome this situation, constant road checks by authorities can be one solution. They inspect important roads at night and find the possible flaws at an early stage, which diminishes the timespan of repairing. To conclude, traffic problems are mainly caused by unthoughtful actions and road repairs, and the solutions would be optimal private planning or constant road inspection.