Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays international exchange visits have become more and more popular. thought that this programme will be useful for teenagers. They will have chance to discover new cultures and improve personal skills but there will also be some drawbacks. The first advantage of exchange is that teenagers will get knowledge and experience of different societies. In other words, Asian civilisation is quite different from United Kingdom society and visiting Asia students from the UK will understand the difference between nations and countries. In addition to that they will discover new food (cuisine), language, traditions and become a part of their culture. Furthermore, students will travel alone and since they will not have parents support they will have to do a lot of things on their own such as settling and fitting in, also continuing and completing their studies. At the same time, they will begin to be more independent, sociable and self-confident. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages in international exchange. Firstly, one of the drawbacks is homesickness, as long as teenagers can't find new friends since they can't overcome the language barrier and then they start to miss their family and feel homesick. Moreover, these visits are frequently very expensive and countless families are unable to afford these expenses. In conclusion, although this program has some drawbacks, the benefits for adolescents by enabling them to expand their horizons and also making them have a good personality will outweigh the negative factors.