Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that as time goes by, more and more people stop visiting doctors and resort to alternative medicines and treatments. This behavior might be due to the healthcare system being an expensive option or a bias toward these cures. I personally think this is a significant mistake, and below, I will explain my reasons. The lack of specialty is the primary and most apparent counterargument to this scheme. A person without enough knowledge on the matter can not come up with a good diagnosis like the one of a professional. First, they might not have enough observation. For example, they can not take a blood test themselves, so they will most likely be unaware of what is going on in their body. Second, they may not have enough knowledge to interpret what they see. With that said, even if they somehow get their hands on their blood test results, they still won't be able to predict what is wrong with them since they don't have enough profession. Third, they are unfamiliar with the treatment system. For instance, if someone knows they have flu or the common cold, they still might choose a wrong treatment. Pursuing a wrong remedy might even worsen the matter because medicines are chemicals and should be taken by prescription. No one should go and put chemicals in their body without supervision. It may create new, serious illnesses or maybe worsen the ones that already exist. To summarize, when dealing with health problems, people should always see a doctor or a professional and avert taking action on their own since it can cause severe problems. So it seems appropriate to say that people resorting to alternative medicine and cures is a negative development.