Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

Nowadays it is a norm for bikers to travel on the same roadway along with drivers which means that cyclists have to obey all the same rules in a predictable manner, which has led to a number of undesirable consequences. Fortunately, there are some effective measures that can be carried out to mitigate unpleasant situations. One of the first problems of vehicular cycling is that bikers have to behave the same way cars do if they want to coexist safely with drivers. Bikes must travel at a pretty fast clip and bikers and bikers have to look over their shoulder when changing lanes or turning to make sure that they do not cut anyone off. Besides, it is actually dangerous for cyclists to hug the right side of the lane because that could lead to cars trying to squeeze by at uncomfortably close distances. Another problem that needs to be considered is that sharing the same lane with bikes makes drivers face inconveniences since they have to make remarkable concessions when bikers are on their road. They, therefore, can not use the maximum speed even when they are in urgent situations. However, the dilemma can be solved by implementing the right policies and the national governments play a vital role in improving the safety of cyclists and the comfort of car drivers. One possible solution to the aforementioned problem would be for the government to invest in constructing bike-specific facilities like separated and protected lanes rather than retrofitting a car-centric road system to cram in a few bikes. Danish cities, for instance, have an extensive system of on-road bicycle lanes and off-road bicycle paths including priority traffic signals and advance stop lines for cyclists at intersections. In conclusion, Although there are a number of problems when it comes to vehicular cycling, there are some steps that can be taken to better the safety-road outcomes and the comfort of drivers when travelling.