Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

The existence of social media sparks much controversy among society. However, some people argue that it causes the erasure of societal norms and customs, while others believe that it benefits the public to connect with long-distance relatives. This essay will discuss both sides and why I believe the merit of social media offsets the disadvantage that follows it. On one hand, social traditions that have been deeply rooted in society for centuries have been proven to be disrupted by the advancement of social media. For instance, during the Thanksgiving celebrations, a great number of people prefer to connect with their family in another continent using the video call method than going on a lengthy trip to visit them. Hence, the ease that social media brings can be a dangerous culprit of poor vintage customs preservation. On the other hand, social media is undeniably very convenient for many purposes as this modernization allows people to be worry-free about how to keep in touch with acquaintances or receive up-to-date information. For example, the public used to wait for 5 to 7 days to obtain letters from the post office, as well as receive news from the morning newspaper, which only refreshed every 2 to 3 days. Thus, social media comes in handy and gives us the privilege to link with the rest of the world, only with few clicks away. In conclusion, the traditional customs that are believed to be endangered as a result of social media usage is underwhelming compared to how the public is now able to have the whole world in their hand because of the effortless connection. Finally, users need to wisely utilize the technologies to prevent them from backfiring and also to suppress the downside that they may bring.