People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled?

A variety of problems, including smogs and traffic jams, are a daily matter for many major cities residents. Nevertheless, those problems might be resolved with public transport and a waste tax. In this essay, I will try to explain my point of view about both of the previously mentioned problems and solutions. To begin with, residents in metropolises have to live up with commutes that can take up to a few hours a day. Let us consider living in the suburbs and working in the city centre, the time spent during the back and forth ride with a car can account for up to several hours. Furthermore, cars and other private transport using non-renewable energy largely account for the smogs that threaten people's health and can cause lung cancer. Therefore, even though the transport residents are using is possibly harming their health, no other choice is available. Notwithstanding, the countermeasures to these problems are plausible to be made. First of all, both commutes and smogs could be resolved with public transportation. It is not only cheaper but faster as well. Public transport, including the metro, makes the trip several times faster than it would have been with a car. Moreover, the time during the trip could be spent learning, studying or working, whereas a driver must be always attentive to the traffic. Besides, while a medium amount of people using private transport could cause a traffic jam, the same amount of people on public transport in no way would paralyze the streets. In order to make public transport even more attractive, the waste tax for cars, motorcycles and other gas-using transport must be introduced. Thus, such measures would result in less transport responsible for causing smog and traffic jams. To conclude, even though commutes are resulting in people spending a great deal of time on the streets, and acid rain are a grave danger to residents ' health, solutions are possible. Public transport and introduction of a waste tax would sharply reduce the private transport in the streets, hence resulting in fewer traffic jams and smogs.