In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Currently, the development of information industries, particularly the telecommunications and mobile device development fields, promotes the wide applications of digital transactions using mobile phones. As pros are always accompanied by cons, paying by mobile phones is an arguable topic. From my perspective, there are great advantages over disadvantages when people use this approach. Several compelling reasons can be listed to argue the great benefits of using mobile phones to finish payments or transactions. Initially, this approach is convenient for both customers and sellers. Customers are free from taking their credit cards or cash, especially the users with multiple cards, because all actions of paying can be realized using their fingertips. The daily workload of sellers is largely reduced as they don't have to manage cash and coins. For the second reason, cash-free is a much healthier and sanitary experience during shopping. By contrast, the conventional use of cash or credit cards might increase the spread of diseases and viruses due to close contact of items among people. The mobile app is much safer,especially during the Covid-19 era. Lastly, the high-volume download of app stores enabled the release of applications along with improved functions at a staggering speed and thus promote the development of IT industries. It is transparently clear to see the substantially increased numbers of applications in recent years and the booming of these new digital methods will improve our life quality. On the contrary, the voices arguing the cons of mobile app payment are rising. One of the primary reasons is attributed to the security aspect of these apps. Specifically, it was reflected by the increasing cases numbers of personal information leakage and fraudulence. Admittedly, these factors largely reduce the advantages of virtual payment. Nevertheless, great efforts have been made to prevent these negative impacts. For developers, updates with more security considerations were updated by introducing authentication codes. The security awareness of using mobiles was raised among the public with support from the government. Thus, I think these shortcomings can be gradually alleviated and electronic payment will play a substantial role in our life. In all, digital transaction is a growing industry with potential problems and drawbacks. However, this is a promising career which brings significant convenience to our life with board recognitions from the public. I would agree that more positive outcomes are brought about by mobile app payments.