In many parts of the world, women study science and technology but do not work in these fields. What are the problems women face? What solutions can be taken to encourage women to work in science and technology?

Globally, many women with an educational background in science and technology ended up in a different career path outside of their studies. This essay will discuss the challenges these women faced, such as inequality and underestimation and will address the solutions, including encouraging women's promotion as well as an inclusive environment in the workplace. One of the most significant issues that women face in the science and technology industry is gender disparity. This is because these industries are usually dominated by male workers. For instance, a recent study in Indonesia found that there are only 26% of women working in the tech field, which makes jobs related to technology viewed as a "man's job". In addition, women usually avoid working in a male-dominated industry as they are usually undervalued. In other words, women are often considered less technically proficient than men in society. Therefore, they are afraid of experiencing subtle forms of bias, such as having their ideas dismissed at work. However, one of the ways to resolve this problem is to promote more women employees in leadership positions. By doing this, there will be more female role models and women may get more motivation to pursue careers in the technology or science industry. Moreover, offices should try to create inclusive environments and promote gender equality within organizations. For example, when a company apply equal pay policies for both genders, it will give a sense of inclusion for females as they feel that the company promote fairness. Consequently, they will feel more secure and welcome in these industries. In summary, while women might be capable of working in STEM or technology, problems such as unfairness and fear of getting unappreciated may affect their career decisions. Nevertheless, these problems can be addressed if more companies give equal opportunities and create a supportive environment for women.