Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Hosting international sports events is a huge accomplishment for any nation but does hosting such events is good or bad for a country depends on various factors In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the issue. The chance of hosting international sports events tends to bring a lot of attention not just to the game but also to the country and city this attention can be monetized in the forms of investments and infrastructure that these events bring. For example, Chennai was able to bring a great deal of investment into the city after it successfully hosted the chess olympiad for which they built bridges and convention centres. This shows that if properly done the city can gain a huge extent of respect and looks stable and can attract further investment into it. If done improperly this could also cause a lot of problems like spending money on unnecessary infrastructure that would be obsolete after the event can also the corruption and damage the reputation of said country. For example, Brazil hosted Olympics in 2014 for which luxury hotels were built and a big wall to cover the slums next to these centres, and rampant corruption was found across all the contracts for these events. This shows that countries can overspend and build useless infrastructure that will be of no use after the event. In conclusion, We can say hosting international sports competitions has both good and bad effects on the country that is hosting it. We can say that if properly planned it could help the country portray itself in a good light and attract investment while corruption and overspending could cause problems instead of attracting more investments and increase the financial burden of the country.