Many people think cheaper air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expansive in order to discourage people to have it. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With the advancement of innovation and technology, long-distance travelling has become much more convenient and affordable than in the past. Many airlines tend to lower ticket prices in order to attract varieties of prospective customers; thus, at the same time, creating opportunities for travellers. Conversely, some argue that this can attribute to severe environmental issues and that expensive prices should be retained. In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide my final opinion on this argument. On the one hand, the opponent of low-cost air travel points out that the cheaper the ticket is, the higher frequency of air travel is, which accumulate to several environmental issues. To illustrate, air pollutants and hazardous gas emissions from airplane engines could cause air pollution. Moreover, an airplane consumes an enormous amount of energy compared to other modes of transport, which means more natural resources such as coal and fossil fuel are used up for the production of aviation fuel. This can lead to the depletion of ozone layers, which has harmful effects on both environment and living creatures. On the other hand, supporters of lowering service fees highlighted that this help open the door for many people in society. Firstly, young generations can afford to study abroad to gain experience and skills necessary for them in the future. Furthermore, businesspeople can commute more frequently to other cities and countries within a shorter period, allowing them to work borderless. Lastly, the economy of the local community will be stimulated as a result of the increasing number of foreign tourists who spend money on local services during their holidays. For example, locals who live in Phuket, a famous tourist destination in Thailand, are heavily dependent on tourism which they do for their living. Therefore, the idea of low-cost airlines would benefit not only individuals who travel but also people who rely on travellers. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that the cost of travelling by airplane should be lower to create opportunities for a society which its essence can outweigh the detrimental effects on the environment. Nevertheless, aviation businesses should be more concerned about the environment and develop alternative solutions while maintaining a reasonable price.