In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their babies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, taking leave during pregnancy has become a pressing concern. It is argued that in many countries, females are eligible to take leave from their workplace during the initial months of their baby's birth. I believe that this issue has more benefits than drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, one major advantage of going on leave after giving birth is the time for postpartum recovery for mothers. It is believed from ancient times that women take six weeks to recover after their delivery, which is vital for the baby and the mother, leading to their better development. For instance, in many Western countries, mothers are entitled to maternity leave to take care of their own and the baby's health, for which they are getting paid from their workplace. Another significant benefit is that mother are coming back to work more productively after spending time with their families, which contributes to more engagement in workplace activities. As a result, many female workers experience improvement in their overall quality of life. Despite these benefits, taking maternity leave also has its drawbacks. A key issue is a decline in the performances of women in settling at their place of work, which can lead to a disturbing environment. For instance, it is seen that the majority of women who are coming back to work after spending months with their families, are finding it hard to concentrate more on their work, negatively impacting the relations with staff members. In conclusion, it is beneficial for mothers to spend valuable time with their family members and the newborn during their recovery period, which can lead to a better relationship with their families. I again reaffirm that its merits are more than demerits.