More and more couples are deciding to be “child-free”, to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reason. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Poeple have different outlook about the reasons behind rising numbers of couples that do not think of having children. While some considers this no more than a self-centered motive, others may argue that is a legitamate actions aiming to prevent environmental damage caused by increased inhabitance in the future. Personally, I am in opinion of that those who do not desire offsprings are mostly not mentally ready to bear the responsibility of having a child. Some of young couples distance themselves from the idea of having children because of concerns like such as environmental damage and effect on their personal freedom. Increasing population is a serious environmental matter that contributes to many of contemporary problems that humanity faces: air pollution, noise pollution, hunger, and many others. This may be a good reason for many that are concerned about earth survival not to have offsprings. On top of that, some individuals may see children as a limitor limiter limit or for their freedom as they need much of attention and care. Thus, these toughts may prevent many young people from having children. However, I would argue that self-centric motives are the main reasons behind a decision to have no children. Young couples that may become parent candidates often are prioritizing other aspects of their life. Career goals, for instance, are among the deterants of having children. People that prioritize their career are not willing to take a responsibility of having a child thinking that it will set them back an immense amount of time, and hence, they will not consider parenting in any part of their life. To conclude, while it is true some may consider having children as a threat for environment and their personal life. I believe that selfish motives, such as reaching certain career goal, are main factors behind this phenomena.