The issue of gay marriage remains controversial. Some people think that this trend has adverse effects on the society while others believe that it is seen as a natural trend and right for people to choose this type of marriage. Should gay marriage be legal? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the recent decades, it has been a widely discussed issue worldwide whether homosexual marriage should be officially legislated. Some adversaries uphold the standpoint that the legislation of gay marriage would potentially exacerbate the societal relationships among citizens. From my own perspective, however, gay marriage will hopefully bring about many more desirable impacts on the development of human civilizations in the long term. First of all, one of the paramount advantages that the permitted homosexual marriage would be that it emblematically substantiates an inclusive society where unnecessary lost will be avoided. In the past when gay marriage was strictly prohibited, people whose sexual orientation were not heterosexual would be punished. For instance, Turing, the reputable British scientist in computer science was ever accused of his "incorrect homosexuality" and hence received a chemical therapy in order to "correct his orientation". However, he could not bear the humiliation and subsequently committed to suicide, which resulted in a huge crisis in computer scientific research and even exacerbated the future development of this discipline. The more serious fact that his death caused was that a tempestuous insurrection was accordingly held by homosexual citizens in his country and severely damaged the harmony between gay people and other groups. Therefore, it would be necessarily crucial to legislate gay marriage for the whole well-being of our society. Another reason why gay marriage should be allowed in public would be that its legislation will probably eliminate hazardous issues concerning crime as well as healthcare in a nation or across the globe. This is not a direct reason that can be thought of instantly, but with a more incisive consideration, we could find out that a large number of gay residents in areas where homosexual marriage has not been legally permitted are more likely to be involved in risky activities. One of the noticeable issues is their secret intercourse with their partners, which means that most of them might have participated in unsafe sexual relations without being aware of potential deceases. As a consequence, gay partners in regions where gay marriage has not been legal are confronted with higher risks of being diagnosed with AIDS. Moreover, illegal relationships provoke prostitution that in most cases is in relation to other social issues such as sexual violence and even rape. If homosexual citizens are officially recognized, they would not venture to meet their sexual desires in secret with illegal prostitutes. In conclusion, the advantages that legislation of gay marriage would bring about in the future far outweigh the unfavorable demerits. A public recognition of homosexuality along with homosexual marriage is definitely going to create a more tolerant societal atmosphere for both gay people and heterosexual couples. In addition, it will also help effectively to reduce unstable factors in our civilizations.