Write about the following topic: Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this tas

Whether to memorize lessons or try to understand them thoroughly is very topical today, as educational matters are the subject of debates. There are valid opinions on both sides which I will discuss now. On the one hand, it is said that the most practical way to master an educational topic is by overreading it to the extent that you know it all by your heart which has been the most significant way for generations. In addition, by this approach, a student will remember information in a logical order rather than understand them distinctively. Lastly, on this side of the debate, people argue that there are some certain topics such as history, geography and sociology, which can not be understood, and the only way to recall them in the exam is by memorizing them. On the other hand, some groups are of the opinion that understanding is the core component to use knowledge in the future, as our brain does not save information which finds impractical for a long time, unless they have been saved for a solid reason. Furthermore, new studies show that overreading is quite old-fashioned and new generations are exposed simultaneously to data on a daily basis and as a result, their wandering attention is not a good place for memorised data. Finally, if we force our minds to save things without complete understanding, it will turn into a bitter experience which kills enthusiasm in individuals, and will eventually lead to an illiterate society. In conclusion, I reckon that deep understanding is the door to accumulating knowledge, and by encouraging enthusiasm in young people, we are giving them a reason to seek more.