Early technological developments helped ordinary people and changed their lives more than recent developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that the primary goal of academies is to turn children into good citizens and job holders, and their growth as individuals is not the school's responsibility. However, I strongly disagree with this view, and I believe that children's personality development should occur in schools. Our education system merely focuses on teaching the hard skills to the students and neglects soft skills assuming that they will learn these skills themselves at a point in their lives. Nevertheless, the younger generation commences attending school at a young age, and their characters are more likely to develop in this era of their life. Considering that it is easier to teach children concepts such as morality and ethics, it is crucial for schools to try and improve their character while they have the required flexibility since achieving this task will be more challenging as the children age. Secondly, it is not likely that students, especially the younger ones, try and work on themselves without being assigned to do so. Teaching children morals explicitly can have a dramatic effect on their personalities and motions. For example, a child that mocks other children might never know the harmful effects of their actions on others. However, if they were taught that their behaviour is immoral and they'd get a suitable penalty for it, their manners might have changed for the better. In conclusion, Regarding the critical role that schools can have in kids' character development, the only role of schools is not to form disciplined citizens and capable employees but to educate better individuals. So it seems perfectly fair to disagree with the aforementioned statement completely.