Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. What are the reasons for this? How could this situation be improved?

With technological advancement, the world of shopping is changing at a rapid pace. All the small shop owners have been facing tough competition from upcoming and current supermarkets which, eventually leads them to shut down. This essay will discuss why it might be the case and how can this problem be alleviated. The reasons for local stores not being able to compete with supermarkets are pretty simple. Firstly, hypermarkets are known for providing necessities, luxuries and services all under one roof. This,in turn, makes it difficult for local proprietors to compete due to the limited amount of space and resources available. After a hectic day of work, an individual would prefer to walk or drive to one place and complete their shopping rather than going to three or four different shops for the same. Secondly, supermarkets offer a lower price on products compared to other stores. They usually purchase them from wholesalers or manufacturers in bulk at a reasonable price. If a retailer tries to compete with the same, in the course of time it will stop making a profit resulting in the store shutting down. To overcome the above-mentioned issues, small shop owners can consider small changes in the way they conduct their business. A good start would be to make correct use of technology and the internet by introducing online shopping. Based on their orders, they can start delivering the products to the customer’s house which would save them time and money to commute to the stores. The next step is to emphasize quality over quantity. To put it in other words, with the help of proper advertising retailers can highlight that the products supplied by them are fresh, and high in quality. To conclude, although hypermarkets can be a threat to small businesses, these problems are not insurmountable. In my view, correct measures like advanced shopping methods and supplying quality products can help local shop owners to cope with their losses and avoid closing down