With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people think that it is a good speed forward, while others do not. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although the increase in the use of e- books alongside a decline in paper books is thought by some to be a positive development, other people do not agree with this view. In my opinion, replacing paper books with e- books can bring about more advantages compared to any disadvantages it might cause. Admittedly, there are some basic drawbacks to using e- books. One problem when these books are used is that reading them regularly may damage the eyesight. More precisely, the readers` eyes are exposed to a constant supply of light while reading these books, leading to the gradual deterioration of the vision. Another drawback is that the gadgets to read digital books may contain some potential distractions. For instance, if one studies an online textbook on their smarphones for a crucial exam, any message or notification coming from social media can easily distract their attention. Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages above, I believe that significant benefits could be gained through the use of digital books. One of them is related to their mobile feature. The contemporary technological advances have enable people to download a large number of books into small devices, some of which can even be carried in a pocket. As a consequence, students or book lovers no longer need to carry heavy paper book while traveling or commuting. Secondly, using e- books is advantageous because they are eco-friendly as opposed to conventional ones. In other words, their production does not require to fell trees, which filter the atmosphere by emitting Oxygen and absorbing Carbon Dioxide. Hence, the widespread use of e- books would decrease the levels of deforestation, making a positive contribution to air quality. In conclusion, even though e- books may damage the eyesight and concentration of readers, the benefits in terms of mobility and environment far outweigh these minor disadvantages. I also believe that these drawbacks can be minimized if readers took necessary precautions such as wearing glasses or disconnecting the Internet when reading e- books.