In today’s job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, soft skills in the job market appear to be held in so high regard that many people assume that academic knowledge may become unnecessary in the near future. From my perspective, I oppose this idea because of the importance of formal qualifications. To begin with, it is undeniable that social skills have a vital place in seeking a good job. These skills including teamwork and time management contribute to enhancing the productivity of the work. For example, an excellent sales assistant will be able to know how to communicate with customers effectively, resulting in better sales than others who have limited scholarly cognition. Even managers should also learn about leadership so that they can manage their staff efficiently. Thus, adaptability is vital as the world is changing requiring more experience than before. On the other hand, the need for social skills is unparalleled in denying academic proficiency. On the contrary, educational wisdom is more and more crucial in the modern world. In other words, it is a foundation which helps individuals analyze what is right or wrong and know how to solve problems. Also, labourers may have more innovations while working and studying, particularly in modern society. To illustrate that, with the dominance of technology, it is possible that robots will replace the workforce one day, leaving a number of workers redundant. Without knowledge, people are just “empty vessels that make the most noise” and hardly create value for employers. Teachers are another example of the necessity of theoretical understanding. A teacher who has limited educational proficiency cannot transfer knowledge to students, which may lead to serious consequences for students’ future. Last but not least, this kind of knowledge provides the ability to predict future figures and then navigate organizations to be on the right track. In conclusion, while soft skills are vital to employees in some ways, academic understanding plays a vital role in the development of an organization in general and staff in particular. As a result, each person should absorb both sorts of knowledge to step toward a brighter future with more opportunities.