The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that there has been a significant shift in the media towards bringing to light horrifying problems rather than emphasizing on positive outcomes and news, thus result in negative impact on its audience. I completely disagree with this statement, because constant negativity fuels adaptability and brings emotional, financial benefits that are far more significant for the society. Firstly, confronting negativity can give a sense of adaptability and safety later, thus it is not harmful, but rather healing for society. In other words, if exposed to negativity for prolonged periods of time, then human minds will create coping and defensive. For instance, news about an ongoing, because at first it seems terrifying, but after a significant period of time military conflict has become a background noise. People and the media adjust to war as if it were a part of their daily routine. Secondly, global problems and emergencies bring adrenaline and create an illusion that life seems interesting, rather than harmful. For example, reports about ongoing terrible events get many views on online services and, as a consequence, news corporations have larger budgets from keeping their subscribers in touch with recent disastrous events, thus fueling the production and need to emphasize on negativity. To summarize, constant media events negativity can be seen harmful, however the society benefits from this exposure far more. In my perspective, constantly confronting negativity help develop essential coping mechanisms and bring large revenue to news services. After thorough analysis of the subject, it is evident that media will get darker in tone to further help people properly cope with negativity.