Some people think university education should prepare students for employment. However, other people think university has other functions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, there is a heated issue about whether universities should prepare students for their future jobs. Some people think this is what universities are supposed to do. By contrast, an escalating category of people holds a belief that the functions of universities are more than that. I completely agree with this notion, and I discern that college should not be a place for job preparation. To begin with, it is undeniable that many universities offer many employment -related courses, and most of these courses are compulsory. This is because when the employment situation becomes worse and worse, college students no longer have an advantage in finding jobs. To be more specific, in the old days, undergraduate students were rare, and they were in high demand so it used to be easy to find jobs. However, nowadays, with the development of education, more universities have been constructed which means there is more highly educated personnel. Therefore, it seems that colleges have no choice but to help their students prepare for employment and tell them the truth about society. After all, not all college students are ready for an academic or scientific career after graduation. However, preparing students for employment does not mean that there are no other functions in college. To illustrate this, it is widely known that in all kinds of educational institutions, imparting knowledge remains the primary function and college is no exception. Furthermore, the college has the most functions among them. For instance, scientific research is one of the most important duties of college. Almost all scientific inquiries are done in universities and they are the main driving force for social progress. Apart from this, there are many libraries in college and many books in them record human history and national culture. They are the crystallization of human civilization. So cultural inheritance is also a significant function of the college. Thus, universities have more than just one function to help students find jobs. There are more important works that need to finish. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, I can reiterate that I believe that university preparing students for employment is a trend which cannot be stopped. But this does not mean that universities do not have other functions which are more initial and more important.