News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

These days, it has become a common practice to provide some kind of visual presentation to illustrate the information about the article or news in the media world. Some people think that the pictorial presentation in newspapers is more functional than text description. I agree with this view for certain reasons such as more informatic and authenticity of the graphical prints of the news. To begin with, adding pictures and other kinds of graphics in the news articles helps people to imagine the real situation which is less convenient when we read some text form only. When we see the graphics and some written information about that particular picture, practically it is easy to understand the whole storyline. For example, recently one of the newspaper companies printed an article about Global Warming with some pictures which were taken from Delhi (India). The pictures were horrible, and this left a very intensive impression on the readers’ minds. So, the photographs on the news page play a vital role to emphasizes the story. Secondly, the information that we can see in the form of graphical illustration in the news is more authenticate than word description. This is because there is no authority to check the written facts but when the graphical representation aspect comes, we can easily identify whether it is genuine or not. For instance, recently, there was a news report about climate change in Africa. The article was printed with some graphs, pictures and tables which showed the reality about the current status of the climate condition, whereas the earlier report which was based on written description was false information. In conclusion, although the written form of information is crucial, I believe that the pictorial representation of a story or article in the news is more fruitful in many ways such as understanding the fact easily and getting the correct information.