Many scientists believe that now we can study the behavior of a three-year-old child to see whether they will grow up to be criminals. To what extent do you think crime is determined by human nature?

There have been some claims made by scientists that whether a child might commit a crime in the future or not can be predicted through analysing his behaviour. I totally disagree with this idea and I believe although genes do play a role, the primary determinant is nurture, education and bringing up. It is definitely possible to mould a child in any direction by proper bringing-up. If we adopt the mindset that if parents are criminals, then their children will be criminals too, we are limiting or even damaging the individual’s basic right to achieve his best. Children can rise above the gene pool and rise to great heights. Even if a child is born to criminal parents but brought up away from that environment and provided quality education, he will not be a criminal. There is a correlation between crime and poverty. A child from a poor family with constant exposure to violence is likely to conduct illegal acts. In order to prevent crime, parents, the media and the government should make efforts together. Parents should afford a good environment for the growth of youngsters. Proper guidance should be provided through daily activities. Further, the media press should pay more attention to the quality of their reports and avoid excessive report the bloody news. Schools should make crime education mandatory. Crime prevention should be added to regular lessons. In conclusion, though nature may be a marginal factor in criminal psychology, I believe that emphasis on the social environment is the real key to fighting crime. It is therefore important to invest in social services, education, and child welfare programs.