People today shop, work and communicate with others via the Internet instead of face-to-face communication. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most people ’s lives have a profound effect on technology. One of the effects is communication via the internet, no matter shopping, working or connecting. In my view, positive development surpasses negative one. On the one hand, there are two of the main positive reasons that people use the internet to communicate with others. First, for shopping, people may have more choices of what they want to pursue on the internet. In other words, they don’t need to visit the stores or shops, it helps them to save time. Also, they can easily compare the price of objects or products that is cheaper or not. Second, for working or communication, during the COVID-pandemic, people can work from home (meeting) on the internet as well as communicate with friends via Facebook or Line efficiently avoid the virus infection. On the other hand, some sociologists proposed the research that people living in virtual life who does not have contact with reality (or so-called face-to-face social activities) may cause some negative effects, such as some health problem, particularly mental issues. Furthermore, during the COVID-pandemic, some studies also confirmed people who do not have face-to-face communication also estrange their relationships with their friends or co-workers. To be specific, there is more social news that people with worse relationships with their family members or friends cannot maintain their emotions or behaviour in daily life. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of using the internet in different fields of our life, the positive development outweighs the negative development due to the pioneering technology which brings our life a bright future.