Some people think that the competitive sports have positive effects on the child’s education, while others argue it is not so. Advantages and disadvantages

In this contemporary world, competition in schools at both academic and sports levels has become increasingly vital. Some individuals think that having tough competition aids juveniles to work hard and prove their ability, while others think that failure on such occasions might lead to a negative mental impact. Out of a plethora of advantages a healthy competition brings, the most preponderant one is that when children take part in sports, they develop both mentally and physically. Thus, some children learn to handle pressure well in intense situations, while others feel rejuvenated when they play some physical games. Moreover, youngsters also enhance their physical strength and posture, when they do regular exercise, warm ups, and practice. As a result, they develop a sportsman spirit and put in numerous efforts to achieve success in sports and studies. For instance, a survey showed that 85% of sportsmen did better in studies compared to ordinary students. There are, however, some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of competitive sports. The primary one is that competition makes people selfish and in order to win a game, people forget about relationships and humanity. Consequently, this leads to disputes among players. Furthermore, defeat in the competition might also have a mental impact, which might further lead to anxiety and depression. Therefore, a child might feel that he is a failure. To illustrate, after losing the final of club cricket in 2018, I could not focus well on my exams, hence my results were poor. To sum up, having put forth all the substantial arguments, I can conclude that although competitive sports do create strong sportsmanship and hardworking personality among the youth, the psychological impact it may have on the children when they face defeat is far reaching indeed.