Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishments?

A number of people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient method of dealing with criminals in the fair system. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed penalty. Having a fixed punishment is an important element of making a fair society. It makes people be more careful of their actions because of the punishment. For instance, if someone steals another person's item, they will take punishment, which is a monetary fine, imprisonment or volunteering. If a thief steals another person's item again, the penalty which they take will increase. Therefore, people who do illegal things will decrease. In contrast, there is a disadvantage to having a specified punishment. For instance, as mentioned, if someone steals another individual's product, they will take a penalty. But the robber might be the person who is incapable of work. For example, the person who has a developmental problem, child or the elderly can not work as they are incapable to work. In this phenomenon, if they take a punishment, they will be in a deadlock. If government support these people, they will not do this kind of illegal thing. And the government's support is important. In conclusion, there are some advantages and disadvantages to fixed punishment. However, making solutions that are equable to each side is an important thing and should take their livelihood,especially those who have a disabled body which makes them incapable of working.