Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society?

A majority of people are of the belief that cultural aspects of nations around the globe have been affected by Television on a large scale. Whereas there are specific pros one can benefit from watching, there are a number of downsides concerning this, which I am shedding light on throughout this essay. Firstly, a TV set can be educational. The public can learn and advance their language skills by watching diverse movies and programs in various dialects. For example, some non-native English speakers can watch movies on special channels such as NETFLIX or HBO with subtitles. Secondly, working 24/7, people need to relax from time to time by simply sitting on a couch while watching Television, escaping from the hectic world they live in. On the other hand, all the news spreading over TV set channels accounts for stress and anxiety, leading to major depression and mental diseases in worst-case scenarios. Hence, with more news displayed in the mainstream and on stations, in particular, more complex mental disorders might emerge. Additionally, most TV programs are produced by western culture; since being categorized as developed, wealthy countries, they can dominate the media by asserting what shos are allowed to display. Hence, most people, significantly adolescents, are affected by some harmful aspects of their culture, which in most cases contradict their traditions. To sum up, taking everything into account, although due to being an educational and suitable source of entertainment for the majority of the population in a society, the drawbacks should not be neglected.