Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be shut down. Others, however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion

Although some people believe that zoos play an important role in protecting wild animals, others feel that keeping animals locked up in such places can be cruel and unnecessary. Personally, I agree with the idea that animals should not be kept in zoos and that zoos should be shut down. On the other hand, some believe that zoos are useful in some regard. First, zoos can preserve endangered animals by keeping them safe from their predators or any other threat such as natural disasters or urbanisation. Some zoos also run breeding programs in order to increase the numbers of some endangered species to help them avoid extinction. Second, by keeping wild animals in zoos, people can understand more about them and this can raise awareness amongst the public in order to preserve certain species. However, while the aforementioned idea may be true to a certain extent, I believe that zoos are unnecessary for the following reasons. To begin with, zoos are not the ideal places for wild animals to live. Some zoos only provide small cages to be inhabited by two to three animals, and not similar to their true habitat. Furthermore, in some cases, animals can be mistreated as they are often provided with insufficient food and medical care, which has so far caused many animals in zoos to die because of starvation or diseases. For instance, the death cases of 3 Javanese tigers in a zoo in Medan last year were caused by the management officer not giving proper food and medicines to those tigers. In conclusion, though some zoos may have some positive impacts for conservations the certain animal species, overall, I think they are cruel places and do more harm than good to animal survival.