Some people state arts courses such painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students .To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern education systems, students are provided with side courses such as painting or drawing besides their core subjects.Many assert that art courses should not be mandatory for pupils.I partially agree with this opinion for many reasons. Art has been proved that has a significant effect on promoting individuals' creativity which is crucial for standing out from others and getting promoted. Moreover, the cooperation of students as a team to create an artistic work would be worthwhile as it develops their social skills and even encourages them to take part in teamwork when they see an impressive result of their work at the end. In addition,violent and cruel behaviour can be seen more than ever before among students.There is no doubt that participating in art classes relieves such treatments since art courses provide a serene atmosphere which pacifies pupils and helps them to let steam off although it can be time-consuming to see its positive results. On the other hand,current societies place a premium on educated people. Thus, these days many students are scrambling with university entrance exams which will determine their future careers and income,so the majority of them prefer devoting all their time to studying main subjects and preparing for them even though some of them are fond of art.On top of that,there are always some people who are not interested in art,if art classes were compulsory,they would disrupt other students ' motivations and make classes unpleasant for them.Another is,that high school students are mature enough to realize their field of interest, so art courses better are a choice for them and they ought to be allowed to spend their time in any other way that they want. In summary,whilst the benefits of art classes for students can not be denied,everyone has his or her interests and has a perfect cognition of themselves and their abilities,so they have to be free to pick out their favourite side subjects and pursue them.