Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible. To what extent do you agree with this?

Farm workers are many times aided by estate policies applied to imported goods. These are necessary measures that must be imposed at all times. In this essay, I will argue why it is fundamental to help our local producers by making imports pay special taxes. Supporting local land workers is vital to contribute to the development of a country's economy. This practice not only does assist individuals with better prices in their everyday groceries but also encourages customers to choose regional products instead of foreign ones. For instance, in Argentina, livestock farmers are subsidised by the government, which allows them to continue their traditional work without having to increase their rates. Moreover, it is thanks to the estate contribution that citizens still get to enjoy the regional meat at affordable prices. Additionally, imported fruits and vegetables usually do not follow national health regulations as strictly as goods grown in one's country. As a result, products can introduce new diseases to foreign countries, which can bring about tremendous negative consequences to the local population. For instance, it has been proven that the fever outbreak that occurred in Brasil in 2018 was directly related to the ingestion of pork meat which came from China earlier that year. To conclude, I believe it is fundamental that governments protect our farmers so that supermarkets keep low prices and so that every citizen promotes further development of the nation's economy. To do so the state needs to implement higher taxes on foreign products wherever possible.