Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people claimed that it is reasonable for a parent to give penalties to their children physically even though it is not allowed by law. From my point of view, no one should harm others including the parents, besides, physical punishment will have more negative effects on the growth and personality formation of children.In this essay, I will explain my points on why I don’t agree with this statement. Supporters who are in favour of the idea hold the traditional concepts that spare the rod and spoil the child, and believe physical punishment can be helpful to shape their strong characteristics and be disciplined. For example, when the son refuses to do homework and escape from school, hitting him by the hips or hands to generate pain may have the deterrent as the power of a parent. However, a person is an independent individual as soon as he or she was born with the right to be protected from being hurt intentionally by anyone else besides his parents. What’s more physical punishment can be harmful not only to body health but also to psychological health,especially for younger children who are still in mental and physical development. For example, if the body of a pupil hasn’t matured, an uncontrollable strength of some weak part like the brain may lead to an irreparable lesion. Research has discovered that a child who is punished frequently will become less confident and lack of sense of security psychologically which may result in an obstacle to their future career. For example, children who receive physical punishment when they are against their parents’ wishes may fear expressing themselves in some circumstances when they grow up. Taking mental health into account, the negative effects will be coming out in a long term of their life and it will take time to make a change after they become adults. In conclusion, the bad influence outweighs the potential educational function of physical punishment to children, considering both body and mental development.