In some societies, the role of a mother differs in some ways from the role of a father. Why do you think these differences exist? How might the parental role develop in the future?

Since the beginning of time, parental roles have continued to shift as societies evolve and social norms change. As a result, there is considerable variation throughout the world in the roles that mothers and fathers adopt. These differences are largely culturally defined and will invariably be subject to further adaptation. Traditionally, gender roles were defined in terms of hunter and 'gatherer'. The men would set out each day to hunt for food while the women would care for children and gather supplies. In many societies today, this primitive hunter-gatherer dichotomy still exists, albeit in a modernised form. Specifically, men are generally seen as the providers, but instead of going out to hunt for food, they go off to work to make money. Similarly, instead of collecting firewood and other essential materials, women are likely to take responsibility for household chores and grocery shopping. Mothers are generally considered to be more involved in child rearing and caretaking than fathers. This is often attributed to the fact that mothers are perceived as being inherently more patient, gentle, and less aggressive than fathers. These qualities are often seen as being important for raising children. However, many societies are increasingly embracing the flexibility that comes with interchangeable parental roles and realising the benefits that this offers. Moreover,both mothers and fathers are becoming aware of the freedom to choose the role they will have in the upbringing of their children. With respect to the future, it can be speculated that the lines between mother and father will become increasingly blurred as social norms and individual values continue to change. In conclusion, despite the conventional wisdom casts fathers and mothers in certain roles, it is clear that they are not set in stone but are liable to change with the passage of time.