Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As the passion for sports continues to rise, so does the ever-growing sports sponsorship industry. While a considerable proportion of citizens contend that it is positive, some individuals point out numerous drawbacks of this practice. I would argue that sports sponsorship has imposed positive impacts on business enterprises and sports players. On the one hand, sponsorships have become recognized as an effective marketing mechanism. Thanks to the extensive media coverage of most major sports series, companies are able to reach target consumers on a unique and meaningful level to promote their commodities and service lines. Moreover, hiring a celebrity athlete or a sports team to help advertise a newly launched product can potentially promote positive brand affinity among their fans. For instance, Red Bull consumption is 63% higher among football viewers. Additionally, an athlete who receives financial backing will concentrate more on the sporting competitions thus performing better. I would argue that investments in the sports industry will bring about a substantial increase in the rate of sales of a company. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages while using sports sponsorships. Using sponsorships from enterprises which produce and sell unhealthy foods such as sugary drinks or fatty meals will bring the sports industry into disrepute since these processed foods have detrimental effects on consumers' health. To illustrate, today's youngsters see sports athletes as their role models and they are also easily swayed by advertisements so they are more likely to consume toxic foods which are endorsed by their favourite sports team. In conclusion, although there are some undeniable drawbacks when it comes to receiving sponsorship from companies, sports patronage help to build brand awareness among sports fans and that generates enormous amounts of money for companies.